Amazing Customer Service

satisfied customer

Satisfied (CC) by SanFranAnnie on Flickr

If you know me or have read my material, I try to support local small businesses whenever possible. But I am also one to hit the keyboard sometimes to get what I need.

Recently I placed such an order. Didn’t really pay attention until going through some old emails and realized I should have received it. So I checked the online tracking, a customer service tool I love, and it said I received my item two weeks ago. So I checked in all the likely spots where we have packages delivered and nothing. Asked my spouse and still nothing. Contacted the package service, batting 0 for 3.

At this point I assumed I was looking at a loss. I would never see this item and would get little satisfaction, at least in the near-term and not without a long term exchange of emails. So with dread, I checked out the customer service options, one of which was an online chat.

Liked that idea and I typed in the situation. Of course I had no documentation with me when I did this so it was basically one sentence, “I didn’t get my product.” Maybe a minute passes and someone responded. We had a brief chat and the person said they would check and be right back. In about two minutes the service person was back and said it would be reshipped, with an expedited service. I was asked to hold for again a couple of minutes. The person returned and said the item was out-of-stock and offered a choice, wait until it was restocked or get a credit on my charge card.

Since the delivery date was too late I asked for the credit. I indicated I would order a comparable unit. The service person replied that they would cover, at no charge, the expedited shipping costs.

So in less than 10 minutes I have ordered a replacement item, had my account credited for the first item, and have it coming with 2-day delivery. I was impressed. (And I already have my item).

That’s customer service in my mind. Now I wonder what happened to the first one??

This entry was posted in ETC by gmuske. Bookmark the permalink.

About gmuske

Glenn Muske believes in rural, small businesses as the cornerstone of a strong economy. His current efforts, as his own boss, focuses on helping those business owner achieving success. Previously, he did this for North Dakota State University Extension Service and Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service.

Leave a Reply

